What did I do with my extra hour? Made peanut butter, of course!

9 Nov

On Sunday morning, I woke up at 9 a.m. Whoa…I slept in!

Wrong. It was really 8 a.m. But since I failed to look at my cell phone or computer (SHOCK, I know) as soon as I got on my feet, I hopped up in a tizzy, ran in to the kitchen and put on some coffee. We were supposed to run that morning, clean the house and thennn….GO TO WEGMANS. So I knew the quicker we ate breakfast and got out of the house, the quicker a Wegmans sub would be in one hand and a million bags of bulk ingredients in the other.

But when I opened the cupboard to start making eggs with peanut butter toast (I know, eggs + peanut butter sounds disgusting but I am tellingggg you, it’s incredible.), I was quickly reminded that we were out of good, all-natural peanut butter. All we had was the reduced-fat kind I got for 99 cents, figuring I could use it for baking or something. But nevertheless, there it was, staring me in the face. Challenging me to a breakfast brawl.

Just as I was about to give in and reach for the fake stuff, Matt made a comment about how nice it was to have an extra hour of sleep. I looked at him, and my face said, “Huh?!?”

I quickly looked at my computer and yes, it was true! It was only (by this point) 8:15! I have so much time left until it’s time to actually get the day started! What should I do? I looked at the peanut butter, looked at Matt, looked at my food processor and looked back at the peanut butter. “It’s about to go down,” I told Matt/the fake peanut butter. Matt just looked at me, laughed and said, “I’m gonna go lift…don’t hurt yourself.” And with that, I grabbed my food processor and dived into my stash of almonds, peanuts, craisins, flax & sunflower seeds. I swear I looked like the nutty peanut (or, the pea-“nutty” professor…har har har) professor, whirling in circles around my kitchen with my measuring cups, scheming something dangerously delicious.

I base my peanut butter recipe on a certain company’s uuunnnrealll “trail mix” peanut butter. Ever since I tried it at a farmers’ market, I had been absolutely hooked on the stuff. The issue? It’s 13 bucks a jar! The other issue? I’m broke! After giving in and buying my third jar in a matter of two months, I knew I had a problem. But lucky for me, Christmas ’09 yielded a food processor (thanks Ma & Dad!) and the rest is history.

Going...

 

This peanut butter is quite the hybrid, mixing almonds, peanuts, craisins, sunflower seeds and flax seeds with a dash of cinnamon and drizzle of honey. I usually try not to add too much oil,  so it tends to be a bit crumbly but I actually like it that way – makes it light and fluffy. However, if you prefer a thicker, creamier peanut butter, I’d suggest adding 1 tablespoon of canola oil to start and then from there, add/mix to your liking.

going...

I’m also happy to report that after eating an english muffin topped with this nutty fuel, I successfully ran 4.29 miles outside with Matt (without complaining once)! So the end of daylight savings time not only provided me with a delicious & nutritious jar of peanut butter, but a great breakfast, a great run and another great reason to come home and eat more 🙂

gone!

Trail Mix Peanut Butter

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsalted roasted almonds
  • 1 cup unsalted peanuts
  • 1/4 cup flax seeds
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup craisins
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 -2 tablespoons canola oil (optional, depending on your desired consistency)

Directions:

  • Place almonds, peanuts, flax seeds, sunflower seeds, craisins, salt and cinnamon into a food processor. Pulse a few times to get it going, and then blend process for about one minute. Stop and scrape down sides of bowl if necessary.
  • While blending, drizzle in honey and oil, if using. Blend until mixture comes together and is your desired consistency.

(I actually got a little ahead of myself this time and threw all the ingredients in at once and blended for about 2-3 minutes. Came out just fine! But I do like the whole “drizzle” effect, makes for a much better cooking demonstration 🙂 )


Leave a Reply

