Post-Army 10-Miler Feast!

6 Nov

Matt and his dad ran the long-awaited Army 10-Miler two weeks ago. The weather was perfect, the air was filled with American spirit and both Izzo’s ran 8-minute miles.

“Unfortunately,” I didn’t run. (The registration filled up before I could even think about running 10 miles.) So after Matt and his dad went to line up at the start, I was feeling a bit lazy.

Until I saw all the free food samples.

There in the Pentagon parking lot stood rows and rows of tents, brimming with free fruit, free coffee, free Kashi TLC  bars and even free yogurt parfaits! At first I was a bit timid, since I didn’t feel worthy of the free goodies since I was not a runner and did not need the added nutrition…but then I reminded myself whose granddaughter I was, grabbed a free canvas tote and got to work. By the time Matt and Mr. Izzo got back, they didn’t have to go through the tents to get food…I had them covered. (However, we still went through the tents and because Matt loves me so much, he filled up a whole ‘nother bag for me! I am still convinced it was his way to get out of Sunday grocery shopping.)

On the Metro ride home, while ogling all of my new snacks, I decided that I was going to make a meal that would certainly satisfy not only two hungry men, but two hungry men who just ran ten miles!

Since it was Sunday, the meal (or at least part of the meal) had to be Italian. I ran through the lists of my family’s great dishes, and decided on Italian sausage and peppers. It was hearty, down-home grub that would not only take me right back to my Ma’s kitchen, but also went perfectly with Sunday football and Sam Adams.

And speaking of Sam Adams, I also decided that this day would be a perfect day to give Bitchin’ Camero’s Potato, Cheese and Ale Soup. And guess what? I was right! The soup was rich, creamy, and had just the right amount of bitterness. The salty, crushed pretzel topping brought the entire dish together. Beer, cheese, potatoes and pretzels in one bowl? Would have made college life so much easier 🙂

All in all, we had a wonderful Sunday. Ran some miles, snagged 2 weeks worth of granola bars, and managed to find every single calorie (and then some) lost by the end of the day! 🙂

Italian Sausage and Peppers

Ingredients:

  • extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium yellow onion, chopped
  • 3-4 bell peppers, cut into approx. 1 inch slices(I used two green and one green, but would highly recommend orange and yellow peppers as well)
  • 6 sausage links (I used two spicy, two sweet and two chicken.)
  • 1/2 dozen whole-wheat sub rolls, sliced length-wise (and toasted, in my case!)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Line sausages on a baking sheet and lightly cover with tin foil. Bake for 45 minutes, removing the tin foil halfway through baking.
  • While the sausages are cooking,  heat EVOO in a large saucepan over medium heat. Once oil is hot, add onions and saute for about five minutes, stirring often.
  • Add peppers to the pot and saute with onions for about 10 minutes, until all are softened and slightly charred. Add salt and pepper to taste. If sausages are not done, turn heat to low and continue to stir often.
  • Once the sausages are fully cooked, take them out of the oven and add them to the pan with the onions and peppers. Stir to combine then serve on toasted (if desired) whole wheat rolls.

Potato, Cheese and Ale Soup

(From Bitchin’ CameroMakes 2 entree-sized servings, 3 medium bowlfuls  or 4 appetizer-sized servings.)

  • 1 tsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 large yellow onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 large Idaho potato, diced
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • 1 12. oz ale-style beer (I used Sam Adams)
  • 3/4 cup shredded Colby jack and cheddar cheese, plus 1/2 cup for garnish
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 1 cup pretzels, roughly crushed for garnish

Directions

  • In a large saucepan, heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Once oil is hot, add onions and saute for 5 – 7 minutes, or until soft. Add minced garlic and saute for 2-5 minutes.
  • Add the potatoes and brown them a bit, stirring often. If they start sticking, add the stock and beer and reduce the heat to medium. Let simmer uncovered for 15 minutes or so, or until the potatoes are tender.
  • Using an immersion blender, regular blender or food processor (I used a regular blender…immersion blender is going on the wedding registry!) to puree the soup until smooth. Return soup to the pot and reduce the heat to low. Stir in the cheese, salt, paprika and vinegar until well-combined.

Ladle into bowls and garnish with crushed pretzels and more cheese.


One Response to “Post-Army 10-Miler Feast!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Confessions of a M.I.A. Blogger… « Mama Mangia - April 19, 2011

    […] health and fitness, I signed up for the Cherry Blossom Ten Miler with Matt. I tagged along to the Army Ten Miler with Matt & Mr. Izzo in October, and seeing all of those people together, being a part of […]

Leave a Reply

