Schnazzy Ciabatta Pizzas

2 Sep

Forgive me for the title of this post, for I am a bit rushed this morning! Matt and I are leaving for Florida this afternoon, and because we are not flying the most incredible “bags fly free” Southwest Airlines, I have to fit six days’ worth of outfits into my itty-bitty-polka-dotty-suitcase. Small feat for most people; unattainable measures for me.

ANYWAYS – yesterday I took a trip to Trader Joe’s for the first time in two weeks! Needless to say, I was overly excited and spent a good hour wandering the aisles (it’s okay, I’m unemployed). After spotting that there were only two of my favorite Rustic Ciabatta Flatbread* left on the shelf, dinner was an easy decision.

(*Just thought I’d take a second to announce my obsession with these flatbreads. Before I had a Trader Joe’s in my neighborhood, I would make it a point to stop at any one within a 10-mile radius during my SBU admissions travel season. While browsing through/buying up a store in Connecticut, I met my first Rustic Ciabetta Flatbread. It was the featured sample – I may or may not of  stepped in front of an old lady to get the last piece – and it was glorious. I bought two to take back to Buffalo and had been pining for the day when I could have them at my ultimate disposal here in Alexandria. HOWEVER, the store here in Old Town only carries about five of these little gems on any given day, and so I’ve been known to put a few orders on hold for me. Yes, Trader Joe’s calls me when the shipment is coming in, and sets aside one, two or, ahem, three for me and my flatbread hoarding problem. I  understand if many of you choose not to me friends with me after reading this post.)

Aren't they the cutest? I COULD JUST EAT THEM UP!

Whew, I feel so much better now that that’s out there! Alright, back to dinner – I figured I would make one spinach-y, tomato and sausage pizza and one of my usual BBQ chicken pizzas, since that is Matt’s favorite. I snatched up a tomato, pepper, zucchini, ball of fresh mozzarella and a sample of mac and cheese (like I noted earlier, Trader Joe’s has the BEST samples) and our new fav bottle of red wine, Tommolo.

I also grabbed a pack of Trader Joe’s all-natural “Sweet Basil Pesto” chicken sausage (after staring at the variety of flavors for about  15 minutes. Smoked Apple Chardonnay? Sun-dried Tomato? Spinach & Fontina? Seriously TJ’s, you bring out the worst of my indecisiveness).

Since the flatbreads are already cooked and seasoned to perfection, the process is very easy. Just chop the veggies, cook your meat and spread the cheese. (Try not to eat half the cheese while putting it on the pizza, like I did. I was seriously worried I would have to go out and buy more!)


Here is the list of ingredients I used for both pizzas, though you can obviously throw on whatever you want!

Spinach & Sausage Pizza:

1/4 cup (?) of extra virgin olive oil (I didn’t measure –  just drizzled it over the flatbread and spread it using a basting brush)

1/2 large tomato, chopped

1/4 of zucchini, chopped

2 Trader Joe’s Sweet Basil Pesto chicken sausage links (I browned them in a pan for about 10 mins before I sliced them)

1/2 box of frozen spinach, thawed and drained

1/2 ball of fresh mozzarella


BBQ Chicken Pizza:

1/2 cup BBQ sauce, spread generously (We loveeee Jack Daniels’ Honey Smoked!)

1 cooked chicken breast, shredded (I seasoned mine with paprika, salt, pepper & onion powder)

1/2 chopped tomato, chopped

1/4 of zucchini, chopped

1/2 green pepper, chopped

1/4 cup of corn

1/2 ball of fresh mozzarella

Bake at 425 for about 10 minutes, until cheese is melted and flatbread is slightly browned/crispy. We ate it with a big salad (compliments of Mrs. Izzo) so we (or at least I) didn’t have to feel quite as guilty about the eating-a-whole-ball-of-mozzarella thing. Absolutely fantastic – mangia!


One Response to “Schnazzy Ciabatta Pizzas”

  1. Dr. Denny September 2, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    Denny still wants some of that peanut butter granola …

Leave a Reply

