Chunky Peanut Butter Granola

10 Aug

Alright, so anyone who knows me knows that I have a slight obsession with making granola. Okay, so maybe it’s not a slight obsession – I’m a freakin’ granolaholic. (For awhile I considered selling tubs of it at farmers’ markets, and I did my research by bringing samples of different batches wherever I went. I made a lot of new friends this way…and probably lost some others. What, breaking out bags of granola at the bar isn’t cool?)

Personally, I consider my granola frenzy to be a fabulous character trait, because, seriously…who doesn’t like granola?!? It is easy to make, as healthy as you want it to be and the perfect addition to cereal, yogurt, ice cream and basically life in general. The only issue I’d ever had with the stuff is that when you buy it in the store, it is expensive…like 4 bucks a bag! So one day, as I was aimlessly wandering around Wegmans, I grabbed a bag and did some investigating. Reading the ingredients (well, the ones I could pronounce) I realized that there is nothing stopping me from baking a big batch o’ oats myself. So…I did. And I’ve never looked back at those granola-stocked shelves at the store.

Since my first granola escapade way back in ’09, I have created  dozens of varieties that are all equally unreal. (I lived in Olean, N.Y. for two years, by myself, allowing for a whole lotta’ bonding time with me and the bulk section.) Here is my newest favorite!

Chunky Peanut Butter Granola

Ingredients:

3 cups rolled oats

1/4 cup wheat germ

1/4 cup oat bran

1/4 cup flax seed (I also throw in 1/4 cup of flax seed meal, when I have it)

3/4 cup roughly chopped peanuts

1/2 cup slivered almonds

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

1/4 cup pumpkin seeds

1 T cinnamon

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 cup chunky peanut butter (I usually use Saratoga PB Company’s Adirondack Jack)

1/4 cup light agave nectar

1/4 cup honey

1 T brown sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

3-5 T of water (depends, if the mix looks dry I add a few more)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 (I usually forget to do this myself, until I’m ready to pop the tray into the oven. So, it seems fitting that I added this direction last.)

In a large mixing bowl, combine first 10 ingredients (oats – salt). Mix well.

In a small saucepan over medium heat, stir together peanut butter, agave, honey, brown sugar, vanilla and 3 tablespoons of water.  Stir constantly, until all of the PB is melted. By that point, it usually is starting to bubble!

Pour wet mix over dry mix, stirring well. (After combining, if the mixture seems a little dry/crumbly, add a few more tablespoons of water. When I think of a way to describe the right consistency, I’ll let you know ASAP.)

Pour onto one large sheet pan or two small sheet pans, spreading evenly. Bake for 25-30 minutes, turning the mix after every 10 minutes for even baking. When done, the granola should be a nice, golden brown color.

Yields about 4 cups, but if you’re like me, you’ll eat a good cup in a half while you’re waiting for it to cool. 🙂

One Response to “Chunky Peanut Butter Granola”

  1. Dr. Denny August 10, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    Denny want some. Denny needs some. 🙂

Leave a Reply

