Whole-Wheat Strawberry Scones

26 Jul

(FYI – I wrote this post last month but never published it! Hence the reference to strawberry season. Just sayin’.)

For the past year, I have been fascinated with scones. No idea why, but I seriously have saved over 30 recipes for these muffin/bread crossbreed. However…I had yet to actually make any of them. Until last week.

Since moving to Alexandria, VA, I have skipped down to the Old Town Farmers’ Market every Saturday morning, whether I need things or not. Last Saturday, I was enticed by the “last week for strawberries” signs at every stand – Last week???I NEED TO BUY A BUSHEL! I happily traded in the majority of money in my wallet for a big batch of strawberries, and walked home dreaming of everything I was going to make with them this week.

One of which, was strawberry scones. I told myself, Anne Marie, there is no better time to overcome your fear of scones. You’re unemployed, in a brand new kitchen and are now surrounded by a ridiculous amount of strawberries. It is now or never.

So I scrolled through my scone recipe collection and found one that seemed to fit the bill. Whole Wheat Strawberry Scones. Healthy and berry delicious at the same time – I will be praised for this culinary masterpiece! I started working with gusto – these things weren’t that tough to make after all!

Until I got to the strawberries part. See, what I didn’t realize when I bought up the farmer’s strawberry stand was that “last week of strawberries = eat them right away….don’t wash them and put all of them in your fridge, waiting to make scones.” The once delish strawberries were not delish mushy strawberries – perfect for jam or piled over vanilla ice cream. Scones? Not the best idea. One I added them in the dough, my mixture became awfully gooey. So, I did the best damage control I could think of: dumped a mass amount of flour on my hands and dug in. I managed to shape the dough into two circles, then, dipping my knife in flour, cut each circle into 8 slices. It took awhile to assemble on my baking sheet, but it was okay. I popped them in the oven and let out a sigh of relief, knowing I did all that I could to make my first scones a success.

In the end, they came out fine…I think. Since I never actually have eaten a scone, I had no idea what they were supposed to taste like! I thought they were good, a little dry (how ironic) but nevertheless a perfect little triangle to sit alongside your cup of coffee. And everyone who did have one, who had apparently had scones before, said they were great. So, here is the recipe, for all you daredevils out there! A little tip: freeze/refrigerate your diced strawberries before adding them to the dough. Might help you just a wee bit 🙂

Whole Wheat Strawberry Scones

(Adapted from the little red house one of my favorite blogs. I suggest you check it out, for great recipes & MUCH better pictures!)

Ingredients:

1/4 cup agave nectar
6 TBS milk
1 tsp pure almond extract (I didn’t have almond so I used vanilla)
2 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup sliced almonds
1/4 c ground flax seed (I also threw in some flax seed meal)
small handful toasted wheat germ
1 1/2 T baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
11 T unsalted butter, cold, cut into small pieces
1 cup diced strawberries
1 egg, lightly beaten
extra oats for sprinkling

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400F degrees with the rack in the top 1/3. Line one baking sheet with parchment paper.

Whisk together the agave nectar, almond extract and milk in a small cup, and set aside.

Combine the flour, oats, almonds, flax, wheat germ, baking powder, and salt together in a bowl.

Using a food processor (or if you’re in for a workout, a fork) cut the butter into the flour mixture, pulsing until it appears sandy (about 20 quick pulses). Mix until you have a good sandy texture

Add the agave/milk mixture. Mix until the dough comes together. Be careful to avoid over-mixing. (Add a little more milk if the dough is too dry.)

Gently fold in the strawberries with your hands. The dough will be crumbly – if you didn’t use mushy strawberries!

Turn the dough out onto a floured surface or a piece of parchment paper, knead once or twice, if necessary to bring the dough together. Press in any strawberries that may have fallen out. Be gentle with the dough and avoid over working it.

Press the dough into a 1-inch thick rectangle or circle. (I did two circles, for smaller scones) Cut into even sized pieces. Place the pieces on the prepared baking sheet with at least 1/2 inch between each scone. Brush the tops with the beaten egg and sprinkle with oats.

Leave a Reply

