Dang-a-Danggg Cookies

24 Jul

Guess what? We have new neighbors across the hall in our apartment! Okay, yea, so shouldn’t be that big of a deal BUT – these neighbors are a young, seemingly normal couple! Which is huge news for us since…sigh…we don’t have any friends here yet. Matt met them in the elevator the other day, and from their  10-second interaction, Matt confirmed that we could hang out with them. (Which is huge considering Matt’s true talent in instant, accurate judgement of character.)

So, like the fabulous homemaker that I am, (still no job! Which truthfully, besides the fact that my savings is slowly dwindling, I’m really beginning to love this no-responsibilities-besides-cooking-and-baking-and-writing thing. Hopefully that feeling fades away before I have to sell my stove for groceries) I decided to bake our soon-to-be-besties some faboosh cookies. I just saved a recipe for Garbage Cookies from “I am Baker,” one of my favorite blogs, and so I was really pumped to get started. Plus, I figured if I used up the majority of my bulk ingredients (chocolate chips, walnuts, almonds, M&M’s) we’d HAVE to make a trip to Wegmans this weekend. New friends, clean cupboard AND a trip to my favorite grocery store in the world? I’m a genius.

And these cookies? Freakin’ unreal. They have huge flavor without all of the add-ins – this will now be my base recipe for chocolate chip and oatmeal raisin cookies.

(I’ve re-titled mine “dang-a-dang cookies,” since this is how Matt & I now react to anything that is really great. Thanks, Stephen!)

Dang-a-Dang Garbage Cookies

(recipe adapted from http://iammommy.typepad.com/i_am_baker/2010/04/garbage-cookies.html

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups flour (I added about 1/4 cup more, since that’s my sister-in-law’s secret to big, voluminous cookies.)

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp allspice (I didn’t have this so I used 1/4 tsp of pumpkin pie spice.)

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

3/4 cup shortening

3/4 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup white sugar

1 1/2 cups whole oats

Optional add-ins:

1/2 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup M&M’s

1/2 cup walnuts

1/2 cup slivered almonds

1/2 cup chopped pecans

Other suggestions: anything in your cabinet! Raisins, craisins, banana chips, peanuts, pretzels, Oreo’s, etc.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

In medium bowl sift flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon,  and all spice/pumpkin spice.  In separate large bowl, cream together shortening, brown sugar, and white sugar until fluffy.  Add eggs and vanilla.  Combine well.

Add flour mixture to wet ingredients and stir until just combined.  Then add oats and all add-in ingredients. Mix well.

Here's to a few new pounds and a few new friends

I made my cookies medium-sized, about 12 per large baking sheet, but I think the bigger the better. I just wanted to make sure I had enough to give away…and enough to keep! See..it is possible to be generous and selfish at the same time.

Bake for 8-12 minutes, until just browned around the edges.

Leave a Reply

